Harlem Shake

New paint over the weekend, both welcoming new inductees into organizations.  First, the marching band frat:

KAPPA KAPPA PSI Welcome PSI Class  AEA  From the Upsilon Phi & Chi's

Thx Beta KAPPA KAPPA PSI Welcome PSI Class AEA From the Upsilon Phi & Chi’s

Star

Star

On the east side, I’m not totally sure, but it looks like this is for new University Guides:

CONGRATS, MO'RAWETZ PROBIES!  LOVE, The O'BO    Roses Are red, violets are Blue. I AM iN Love wiTH THE TINIEST YU  Thx JAMES KIM

CONGRATS, MO’RAWETZ PROBIES! LOVE, The O’BO ♥SPOON  Roses Are red, violets are Blue. I AM iN Love wiTH THE TINIEST YU Thx JAMES KIM

There’s also a leftover Valentine there on the right.  Another new sighting on the bridge is this chalk on the sidewalk, playing on the Keep Calm theme to advertise for HelpLine:

KEEP CALM CALL HELPLine  434295TALK

KEEP CALM CALL HELPLine 434295TALK

Nearby, I was riding my bike past the Rotunda and came upon this scene:

The crowd practicing going nuts.

The crowd practicing going nuts.

I knew immediately what they were doing:  this was a filming of a massive Harlem Shake video.  I’m not even going to try to explain what that is, I’ll just assume you’ve been on the internet in the last 2 weeks.  It looked like they were doing this with Dean of Students, Allen Groves:

Prepping with Dean Groves

Prepping with Dean Groves

As final preparations were made, I got in the crowd for the craziness that ensued:

I tried to take some photos while it was going on, but it was a little too crazy with arms flailing, things flying around, and champagne spraying in the air.  However in looking at my mostly bad pictures later, I saw that somebody actually had a live cat:

Harlem Shake Cat.

Harlem Shake Cat.

Have something to say about this post? Say it!

