Relay, Visions, & Paws

This time of year when the weather is nice and student activities are in full swing, the bridge gets pretty active.  That means multiple paintings per day (and night), some of which I miss.  In the morning the west side had an ad for a Relay for Life race:

PUPPIES ♥ APRIL 13-14 6PM-6AM RELAY FOR LIFE *CARR'S HILL FIELD!!! http://www.RelayAtUVA.org *sign up today!!

Later on in the day, it was painted by a bunch of kids from Boys and Girls Club (they always do a great job):

BOYS + GIRLS CLUB ROCKS EARLY VISIONS

On the east side, don’t miss the “spring carnival and petting zoo” happening the 13th:

TAUS FOR PAWS MAD BOWL 2-5 PM APRIL 13TH ATΩ+ΣΔT

Finally today, on Twitter I saw this website that sells art made from Beta Bridge paint chips:

VisitCharlottesville @visitCville Awesome etsy shop we just found: ow.ly/a3hmN Art using paint from @UVA beta bridge in #cville!

Pretty awesome idea.  I have some little chunks of Beta Bridge that I pick up and keep every once and a while.  They are interesting little artifacts because of the swirling layers of color and also because they are a little slice of history, so I definitely approve of this idea of making art out of pieces of the bridge.  However, I do not approve of the proprietor stealing my image with no credit.  Examine if you will the banner on top of the Etsy page:

with love from c'ville

Now compare that to my image from that painting:

Stolen!

With the exact same angle and lighting, I’m pretty sure that’s a cropped and edited version of my photo with no credit.  But you know what?  I’ll let it go, internet karma will take its course.

Have something to say about this post? Say it!

