Tommy Gilliam

I had heard last week that a student died as a result of falling off the Physics building, but when I looked on UVA’s main page, I didn’t see any bulletin about it and didn’t hear much more.  When I saw Beta Bridge today, I Googled Tommy Gilliam because I didn’t know why this would be painted on the east side:

WE LOVE & MISS YOU, TOM(MY) WEST GILLIAM IV

Then I knew that Tommy “Four” (read this great article for an explanation) was the student who fell off the Physics building.

There was also this article from NBC29. (I must say, they have a pretty bad picture of the bridge.  Was that taken with a cell phone camera?)

On the west side, an equally somber message:

END THE SILENCE Take Back the Night 2011 april 4th~10th

Have something to say about this post? Say it!

